Nepal at Glance

Cloud 1 Cloud 1 Cloud 1 Cloud 1 Cloud 2

Nepal at Glance


Area of Nepal: 147,181 sq km

Geography: Nepal is a landlocked country located between China, in the North, and India in East, West, and south. Highest point Mt. Everest (8,848m) and lowest Kechana of Jhapa District (60m).

Capital:  Kathmandu is the Capital City of Nepal. Kathmandu is a valley surrounded by four hills-Fulchowki, Chandragiri, Shivapuri and Nagarjuna. Kathmandu Valley has three major Cities Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Patan. Situated at the altitude 4,500 feet above the sea level, Kathmandu is home to Seven UNESCO World Heritage sites. Before the unification of Nepal in the 18th century, the three cities were independent states ruled by Malla Kings.

Population:  29.3 million ( according to the census of 2017)

Language:  Nepali is the National Language. However, people speak Newari, Bhojpuri, and Maithili among others as their Mother tongue. People in urban areas understand English Quiet well.

 Climate:  Nepal has four seasons, namely, 1. Winter ( Dec-Feb) 2. Spring (mar-may) 3. Summer (June-Aug) 4. Autumn (Sept-Jan). Nepal can be visited round the year.

Political system:  Federal Democratic Republic.

People/ Religion:  Nepal has more than 105 ethnic groups with diverse culture, traditions, and lifestyle. Nepali people can be divided into two distinct groups. Indo-Burman and Mongoloid. Nepal is a secular state with a majority of people following Hinduism. However, people practicing Buddhism, Christianity, and Islam among others live in good harmony.

Administrative Division:  Though Nepal is a federal republic, federal states are yet to the carved. Nepal is divided into five development regions, 14 Zones and 75 districts.

Geographical Division:  Geographically, Nepal is divided into Hills, Mountain, and Tarai regions.

Subscribe and Win a Free Everest Trek!